Update on da beers

Yes, beerS …  and… no.  I’m not THAT much of a lush.

The boy and I made root beer yesterday as well as getting my cream ale in the keg.

Making root beer is surprisingly simple, if you use extract.  We use Zatarains root beer extract and it tastes REALLY good.  The process is simple.  Dissolve sugar in warm water, add extract and other flavorings as desired.  Then, if you bottle it (I use empty 2 liter bottles sometimes), add champagne yeast.  If not, just pour it into the keg, charge it with CO2 and roll the keg across the floor a couple of times.  In 3 days you will have root beer.  I get my extract from The Home Brewery in Ozark.  Nice people, good prices and FAST delivery.

As for the adult beverage, I racked it on Friday night just to let it settle a little more.  By last night it was clear enough to see through so there was no need to wait any longer.  I put it in the keg yesterday evening.

I pulled a sample off to taste and this is going to be a nice beer.  It’s a little too hoppy to match the cream ale I’m going for, but I think if I back off the hops on the next batch it will be very close.  I also think the hops bite will mellow as this sits in the keg.  It has a pretty, caramel color and is just slightly sweet.  The hops and cara pils give it a nice smell too.  It should be about the same color as the one in this picture.  It looks like an ale but it’s lighter and not as malty.

I can definitely see doing variations of this beer with different flavorings (apricot, orange, honey, etc.).  I think I may have just discovered my base recipe for all my lighter beers!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

