How the wheels turn

Cyclists crossing Kansas in the Bikecentennial...
Image via Wikipedia

I had to laugh at myself yesterday.  I awoke to driving rain and thunder.  I was supposed to go to my usual Tue/Thur run and rain never stops that.  But I laid there in bed and listened to it for a while and just decided not to go.  For the first time in as long as I can remember, I didn’t go because I just didn’t WANT to.  I drifted back off to sleep and when I woke up an hour later, of course, the rain had stopped.

I tried to reconcile my guilt and remorse by telling myself that the rain would clear out and I would be able to ride yesterday evening at the interval group ride.  Looking ahead, I knew I needed to get my Kona (commuter bike) in to the shop because the headset was clicking and would just “stick” every once in a while.  This terrifying little problem led me out in to traffic or headlong at curbs on more than one occasion and it needed to be fixed… NOW.  When I dropped the bike off they said they could fix it in a few hours so after picking up a bike computer and a bottle system for the race bike I went back home and picked up my race bike.

As soon as I got back to work, the bike shop called and told me my bike was done…  *sigh*  Back in the car and to the bike shop.  So now I have two bikes in my tiny little car and they are both mine.  I have bike clothes, two different types of bike shoes, a helmet, pump, various types of Hammer Gel, Gu and other odds and ends.  My car looked like a mini bike shop.

It got me to thinking how much my attitude has changed over the past year about bicycling.  Many years of mountain biking and riding a recumbent on the roads had given me a pretty low opinion of road riders.  Uppity, snooty little spandex clad wedge riders on their million dollar titanium whips.  But as I looked at the million dollar, carbon fiber road rocket in the back of my dinky little car and its commuter companion, I realized that I had BECOME one of them.  And I was cool with it.  Really cool…

Granted, I can’t really call myself “seasoned” or even a veteran.  I have yet to go 100 miles on my bike.  I just got a water bottle for my race bike.  I have never ridden in a triathlon with a bike leg over 30 miles.  But I will get there.  The big difference now is that I WANT to.  I’m not saying I chose to bypass a run for a ride… but it sure helped to know I could…!

It took me 20 minutes to disgorge all the bike bits from my car last night.  Once I got home  and got unloaded from one ride, it was time to pack for the morning bike commute.  Three rides in less than 24 hours…  Not long ones (yet), but still.  That’s a pretty substantial change.  I will pay for it tomorrow, though.  A 12 mile run in preparation for the Hospital Hill Half Marathon the first weekend in June.  Moving on.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

