A return to the routine

Finally.  After one of the most miserably long and depressing winters on record (for me) it feels like I’m getting back into it.  Two decent weeks of training, a good day at Trizou and my first open water swim of the season (which was AWESOME!) have me charged, if a bit tired… and ready to get after it.

I have contacted a local swim school about a summer swim program for adults and that looks like it will be a go.  I really think that my biggest problem is just mechanics and technique right now so hopefully having somebody there to bark at me and give me pointers will help.  And organized swim practices are always better than swimming alone.

I’m really loving the bike commute.  It gets me some training in and this time of year especially it’s really pretty.  Slightly cool but lots of trees and bushes in bloom.  Makes for an entertaining ride.  If I catch the occasional group ride I can easily get in 100+ miles a week without feeling like I’m scrambling for time.

I still need brick work, which will probably be a weekend thing.  I don’t really have any other time to do it.  As much as I want to do ALL of the club’s activities, I’m slowly realizing that this is impossible.  I need to focus on MY training and doing what I need to do to get in shape.  If it happens that the two meet up, great.  But last year I found myself just running from workout to workout, only to look up at the end of the week and see that I had only gotten one swim in but had run 5 times.  Triathlon is so much a practice of balancing your training that you really have to stick to a plan or work the group stuff or fun stuff into your plan.

I don’t think a half ironman is in the cards for me this year.  As much as I would love to, I have had too many personal and training setbacks to feel comfortable swimming or biking the distance.  Since I pretty much need to commit NOW to Pigman or Great Illini, I would rather just not push it and have fun this year.  There are several Olympic distance events that I can do which will build my confidence for next year.  The good news about triathlons is that they never stop having them.  I like the patient, measured growth approach.  Ambition is good and it pushes me to get better, but at some point it has to meet reality.

So if I switch back to Olympics, this is my schedule:

Hospital Hill Half Marathon

Fresh Ideas (Innsbrook) Quartermax

Evergreen (Illinois) Olympic

NEMO Triathlon (Kirksville)

I would like to find something in September and maybe even October as well.

I am not going to be able to go to Club Nationals this year unless money falls from the sky.  Soon.   I won’t go without my family and just can’t see how to get us all there.  As they say, one of the biggest barriers in triathlon is the size of your wallet.

But I’m looking forward to a summer of training.  Finger Lakes got me really excited about things again.  I really love that place and plan on being out there as much as possible.  Should be a fun summer!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

