Why not just enjoy it?

Alright.  Back to using WordPress.  I gave Posterous a good try but slowly became unimpressed with its limitations.  Neat concept…  It’s just taking them too long to make upgrades and make it better.

Anyway, enough geeky stuff.  On to the grind that is triathlon training…

Ya know?  These commuter bike rides may be short (12 miles each way) but carrying all the extra weight of paniers, rack, clothing, etc. is a pretty good workout!  I haven’t noticed it as much when I get on my race bike, but the hills seem a lot flatter when I’m running!  I ran Hugh’s Hulen Hills route today.  This is a dreaded route due to… you guessed it… hills.  Most notably a big one about a mile and a half in and then one more VERY steep (but thankfully short) hill about a mile from the finish.  I can’t say I powered up them or accelerated, but I felt a lot stronger and didn’t fade at the top.  Also, my recovery time was much shorter and my time on flats (which there weren’t many of on this run) was faster and consistent.

I still need to stretch my mileages out a little bit on other rides, but I already feel a lot better about the bike.  And it makes jumping on the race bike even more fun because it is SOOO much lighter.

I think this season is going to be about practicing a balanced training routine.  I really want to make sure I give enough time to the bike and run this year.  I’ve also been thinking that I don’t want to push it too much.  Even though I really REALLY want to do a half Ironman, this year may not be right for it.  I may look at just upping my mileages this year and doing some Olympic distance events, then looking for an early season half next year.  There’s no rush and, honestly, I’m having so much fun and feeling so good doing triathlons, I will enjoy it more if I just gradually build mileages this year and see what happens.  I’m not so sure I really even want the pressure of signing up for a half until I’m comfortable.  Why stress myself out about it?  If my training goes well and I get up to mileages big enough to reach for a half, I’ll do it.  Otherwise, I just want to get used to my bike, get better in the water and see what happens!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

