Out of position

I really hate it when I look up and realize I’m not where I’m supposed to be.  Whether I’m not in position in a sport, took the wrong exit in the car or, in this case, I’m just behind.  I’m not where I wanted to be at this point in my training.  Yes, I know it’s early in the season and I’m probably at least where I was last year, but that’s not good enough.  I should be ahead of last year.

Excuses are everywhere.  Work commitments, rotten weather and so on.  But none of it matters now.  The racing season is upon us and I’m not ready.  I have my first multisport race of the year, a duathlon, this Saturday.  I have done one brick, and three rides over 20 miles THIS YEAR so far.  I REALLY need to lower my expectations for this race to just a training event and not worry about times.  It’s not going to be pretty. 

My next race is the first weekend in May.  It’s a triathlon and so as soon as this race is over, I’ve gotta get back into the pool.  I purposefully took some time off from the pool because I felt that the quality of my workouts was suffering.  I was developing poor form and poor training habits so it was time to back off for a while.  That being said, I really need to hit it hard in April otherwise I might as well abandon my half Ironman goal for this year.  This might not be a bad idea anyway, but I’m keeping it… for now.

I realize I need to be careful over the next month because I don’t want to be so excited about a full training schedule again (thank you SPRING!!) that I end up overtraining and getting hurt.  But I do need to gradually build up my mileages over the next two months in all three events.  Againk, my running is fine and I don’t have far to go, but the other two sports are just not where I want them to be yet.  I’m hoping to catch up in the next month with some longer rides and then just let swimming come on gradually.  Especially when we can get back out to open water again.

The good news is that, even though I’m a little disappointed with my efforts thus far, I’m still excited about the season and about moving up to Olympics and half Ironman distances.  Sprints are fun, but I gotta start getting my money’s worth out of my bike!

Posted via web from Dabigleap

One Response to Out of position

  1. […] Out of position (dabigleap.wordpress.com) […]

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

