… is another man’s treasure.

My six mile run this morning felt more like nine with all the weaving back and forth across the trail I was doing in a desperate search for clear spots amid the snow and ice patches, ruts caused by bicycles and lumps of frozen schmutz that rose up out of the dark to greet me.  I did manage to choke out an effort that was 15 seconds per mile faster than Tuesday, but I have really given up on time goals for the moment.  Right now all I want to do is maintain my base and not injure myself in the process.  Yes, it will make my (secret… shhhh…) goal of finishing 2010 with an average pace under 7:50 more of a challenge, but I’m up for it.  Like I posted on Facebook, at least I was out there.  The INCREDIBLY light turnout we had today (MAYBE 20) was, I think, an indicator of the populace’s growing impatience/intolerance of cold weather (18 at the start) and poor conditions, as well as an odd dislike for this particular route.  I’m not sure why.  It’s a flat trail run through some pretty areas (granted, the turnaround is a bit of a stink hole in the University compost heap) that I have always enjoyed.  The major part of it is where I really cut my teeth on longer runs as I was increasing my mileage for marathons so it has a special place for me.  Everybody else says it stinks and the trail is rough.  Eh… One man’s compost heap…

With the trail as slick and messy as it is in general, I think we are all going to have to just suck it up for a while.  The hard part is there is really nothing you can work on (except self preservation) when the trail conditions are like this.  It’s funny.  I think runners suffer enough for their sport that they actually enjoy having stuff to bitch about.  For us, if it’s not ice, it’s walnuts or horseflies or thunderstorms/floods or…  When your sport is the usual PUNISHMENT exacted in other sports, you have to have SOMEthing to bitch about.  Once again… One man’s trash… 

Posted via web from Dabigleap

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

