Getting over the block

In the past 3 weeks I have written over a dozen entries in this blog… but I haven’t posted any of them.  Call it writer’s block.  Call it having nothing really interesting to say (do I ever?).  Call it a slight case of the blues due to the fact that I only get to exercise in the daylight about once a week.  Whatever.

Regardless, I’m struggling with motivation on a lot of levels.  So, hopefully to get me kickstarted again I’m going to try to catch up on a few positive things.

First, I ran my first 10K of the season (and recent memory) weekend before last.  To my surprise, I ran a 47 flat.  Which is a PR by almost a minute.  Early season PR’s can be a double edged sword in that it’s great to get a PR any time but it sets the bar pretty high for the rest of the year!  I’m choosing to look at the positive though.  It was totally unexpected for me to run 7:30s for this race and I’m sure that with hard work (and weight loss) I can maintain that in a triathlon or half marathon.  It lets me know that even though I may have lost fitness in some areas over the winter, my base is still much further ahead of last year.

Next, I finished my taxes this last weekend (which is a positive in itself) and I will definitely have enough to buy the bike I have been drooling about for the last month (sorry).  I can’t say that this bike will make me fast because I know better.  The ENGINE makes the train move.  I get it.  But having a dedicated vehicle that is made specifically to race on is HUGE motivation to work on the engine.  Once the refund hits my account, I’m sure the anticipation will go way up, but for now, I just need to shut up and ride the trainer… and wish for warmer weather.

Finally, I’m excited about the races I am going to do this year.  Not as many or as far reaching as I want, but that is mostly due to the financial impact of the second thing on my list…!  So far, this is what I’m thinking:

February: Nut Race 5K

March: St. Paddy’s Day 5K

April: Max Trax Duathlon

May: Trizou

June:  Hospital Hill Half Marathon, Fresh Ideas Olympic distance triathlon

July: Not sure yet.  Maybe Evergreen (in Illinois)?

August: Pigman Half Ironman!

September: Probably physical therapy… If not mental therapy… or both.

Yes, there are a lot of other races.  But I have to be VERY budget conscious or this little “habit” may bankrupt me.  Most of these races are close and I can use my hotel points to cover the cost of lodging on the ones that need it.  But doing two or three events every month is out of the question.

Ya know… Just looking at race websites again got me fired up.  Now I just need sunshine… Lots of it.

Posted via web from Dabigleap

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

