Why is this so hard?

Simple \Sim”ple\, a. [Compar. Simpler; superl. Simplest.]

[F., fr. L. simplus, or simplex, gen. simplicis. The first part of the Latin words is probably akin to E. same, and the sense, one, one and the same; cf. L. semel once, singuli one to each, single. Cg. Single, a., Same, a., and for the last part of the word cf. Double, Complex.]

1. Single; not complex; not infolded or entangled; uncombined; not compounded; not blended with something else; not complicated; as, a simple substance; a simple idea; a simple sound; a simple machine; a simple problem; simple tasks. [1913 Webster]

OK… Lookit.  *sigh*

I have tried to write this post at least a half dozen times.  I think it’s important to talk about goals and set good ones.  But getting what’s in my pint sized brain to come out in a post with any form of organization or sanity is proving pert near impossible.

Let’s just make it easy.  I need to simplify things.  No convoluted goals that all depend on each other.  No “pie in the sky” dream goals that will be impossible to achieve if I hope to keep my job, wife and other really important things intact.  So I have decided to set very few goals this year, but they are all encompassing and will lead me to achieve a lot of other smaller goals I have in my head.  So here goes:

Fitness:

Compete in one half iron distance triathlon.

Personal:

Finish the frickin’ cabinet doors and be done with the kitchen.

That’s it.

Simple.  If I do these three things I will achieve every other goal I have in my head.  Things like losing weight, other household projects, more time with my family, etc.  Those will all happen if I focus on these three things.

And I can do them all with that one word…  Simple.

Simple meals

Simple training plan

One hour a night in the shop

One new research article a day

Finish what I start

Follow through

Evaluate everything new that comes along against my goals and these steps.  If it doesn’t fit, discard it or shelve it for later.  My co-workers have had to hear me preach a mantra now for over 3 years regarding curriculum, presentations, web sites.  “It’s gotta be simple and obvious or no one will use it”.  Now I want to carry that over into my personal life.  Time to simplify.  I don’t think this will necessarily make a half ironman “easy”.  But the effort needs to be IN the training, not figuring out how to get the training IN.  That’s the part to simplify.

So the PLAN, as it sits, is this.  Bike to work as much as possible.  One long ride on the weekend.  One long run on the weekend.  One long swim per month.  Run NO MORE THAN 3 days per week.  Swim AT LEAST 2 days per week.  Other than that, due to my work schedule, things will be pretty fluid.  I will probably only race in 3 other races this year.  Tri-Zou, Innsbrook and then something longer in August if I can find it.  The only other thing I want to do is a half marathon in June.

Simple.

Posted via web from Dabigleap

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

