ok… NOW it’s cold.

After spending the last month whining about the “cold” weather (30s and 40s), Ma Nature is about to punch me right in the face with a 7 degree morning and winds of 15-25mph (wind chill -10).  This news had me diving into the depths of my closet and running stuff drawer to find the REAL cold weather gear.  When temperatures drop from “chilly” to “life threatening” I could care less about looking like a terrorist and am only concerned with survival and lack of frostbite.  While we are a crazy bunch for even attempting a run at these temps, we moderate our chances of injury or death by helping each other out with tips and tricks for cold weather.  Little things like putting Vaseline on exposed skin (nose, cheeks, etc.) to protect it, dressing in layers, not overdressing (thereby overheating and subsequently having the excess sweat re-freeze to your skin…) and lots of other little tips have helped me feel a lot safer (if not more comfortable) about running in extremely low temperatures (if you can count the temperature on your hands only… it’s serious). 

As crazy as it sounds, I prefer running in the cold rather than the heat (sorry Kathy…!).  I have never handled the heat well and tend to wilt when doing exercise in temps over 80 degrees.  Anything approaching 90 and I’m done.  I don’t even like to swim in summer heat.  I can always add another layer of cold or wind protection in the winter.  However there is only so much you can (legally) take off in the summer.  My three best seasons are definitely fall, winter and spring.

I may not run the full “A” distance tomorrow, but I will definitely be there!  Bring on the ice beads!

Posted via web from Dabigleap

One Response to ok… NOW it’s cold.

  1. Bob Allen says:

    I’ve just arrive back in the US for a meeting. It’s 15° in Detroit right now. Richmond, where I’m headed, has been having lows in the mid-20’s. After Nairobi’s 60° early mornings, I will enjoy the cold runs but it will probably be a shock to my system.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

