Just finish

After my whiney-ass post yesterday I was looking around for Captain Whineypants.  Thanks for the words of encouragement.  It’s not often that I get down like that but it’s frustrating sometimes…

I went for a swim yesterday afternoon which helped a little and then went out to dinner with my family, which helped a lot.  This morning I was expecting snow or frost on my run and when that didn’t materialize, my mood improved even more, even with the 20 degree temperatures!

What makes this morning’s run unique is that it is completely devoid of hills.  These runs are so rare here in CoMo that it actually takes a while to get used to.  This is also a rather long run, comparatively, at about 8 miles, so I was curious as to how I would do.

I determined to really focus on cadence and turnover this morning.  Since I wouldn’t have to vary my stride much for the hills, I wanted to see if a higher turnover without any other changes would make a difference.  It was cold (about 24 at the start) but I had chosen the right gear to wear so I was comfortable.  The full moon was an added bonus and I turned off my headlamp a couple of times while I was in the woods.  That was AWESOME.  Just beautiful.

I tried really hard to talk myself out of going the full distance (a danger when you are doing an out and back route).  Right up to the turn around point for the B route, I actually had to force myself to take that first step past it, then I was fine.  I was a little tired from yesterday’s swim and I’m sure that played into my wishy-washy…ness.

Once past the point of no return, I settled in and relaxed.  I didn’t feel like I was breathing hard enough and thus felt slow.  I was completely alone (as usual) with the closest person ahead of me by over a minute and the closest person behind me by about the same.  I started getting a little frustrated because I didn’t feel like I was running very well.  I felt a little leg weary and out of rhythm.  I almost just gave up and cruised back in, but caught up with another runner and his dog (VERY cool dog, BTW).  The dog (Oscar) determined that he should run with me instead of his dad so I had a running buddy (big, beautiful Golden Retriever) for a mile or so until he heard his mom coming up from behind and stopped to wait for her.  Shortly after that the run was over. 

I glanced at my watch and was stunned to see that I had run 8 miles nearly 2 minutes faster than the hilly route we did on Tuesday.  I averaged 7:43 but it felt slow and lethargic.  Now, there have been those times that I have felt fantastic and run 30 seconds slower than I thought I would, so I know it balances out.  It was, however, a good lesson.  Don’t give up on a run.  Finish them ALL… as strong as you can.

Posted via web from Dabigleap

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

