The demotivation factor

The post race season letdown I have been feeling since October just doesn’t seem to be going away.  I think it is because of a couple of things.  First, I had a fairly successful first season of triathlon.  Not world beating by any means, but I improved in every area and my times (and especially my weight!) came down as the year progressed.  Second, this was my first season back after a disastrous 2008 in which I COULDN’T exercise for nearly 7 months due to an injury.  The excitement and anticipation I felt starting in January was wonderful and I guess I’m coming down off the high a bit.

Since October I have only wanted to run.  I love it, missed not doing as much of it and it has really been the only thing to motivate me to get off the couch.  I have only been swimming sporadically, can NOT motivate myself to get up early to go to the pool… and am really just putting in mileage right now.  I don’t have a focus for my swim workouts, I’m just trying not to lose anything.  As for the bike… It still has all the red mud on the tires I picked up at Redman.  I haven’t been back on it once.  The only biking I have done is on a mountain bike. 

I have struggled to come to grips with why I don’t love the bike.  I have always been an avid cyclist, riding mountain bikes, road bikes and even recumbents.  When I am ON the bike, I enjoy it.  But I really struggle with motivation.  I did manage to borrow another trainer for the cold winter months but even that, as convenient as it is, seems to matter little.

I really just want to run.  Even though I know that it is the worst of the three sports for me, physically.

And the hell of it is, I KNOW that if I train next year as well as I did this year, I can do a half Ironman next fall.  I already have the swim and run distances down.  It’s just that stupid bike leg…

I think a part of it is that I know that my current bike, although fine for short distance triathlons like the sprints I did last year, is just not made for “sport” racing.  I made some changes to it to make it more race friendly, but it’s a commuter/cyclocross bike.  It’s just not made to handle longer, harder distances like a dedicated triathlon bike is.  Since the reality is that I just don’t have the cash for even a decent entry level triathlon bike (no, I don’t want a used bike… sorry.), I’m struggling trying to convince myself that the training will do any good.  I know my bike won’t make it another season and, since I can’t afford another one, that nagging little voice in the back of my mind just wonders why I should bother…

Now I will be using the old bike to commute to work in the spring and I’m looking at doing some spin classes and other bike related activities, but since I don’t know when or if I will get a new bike, I don’t want to sign up for any races.  The only race I am seriously considering so far is a half marathon in June.  Other than that, I got nothing…

I really don’t want to lose the motivation I felt throughout this past year.  I can feel me sliding back down the path of less exercise and more eating and I am already very worried.  I’m really not interested in losing the same 25 pounds I lost last year again next year!  But I’m still searching for my spark.  I’m looking for something to push me and challenge me.  Right now I just see barriers.

Posted via web from Dabigleap

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

