Now and later (this year, next year)

Been taking a break from the online side of life to go out and experience as much of the real stuff as possible before the realities of winter hit.  As such, when I get done mountain biking, trail running, regular running, swimming, etc.  I’m kinda pooped and don’t feel much like talking about it. 

As I have been roaming around the local woods, I’ve thought a lot about next year and what I want to do.  I think if I have one more good season of training, I will be able to attempt the longest distance I hope to accomplish in triathlon, the Half Ironman distance.  This is a 1.2 mile swim, 65 mile ride and a 13.1 mile run.  I really think that I will never be able to go farther than this.  My body just breaks down.  Especially on the run.  I think if I could get this distance it would really be something special for me.  I have already swam this distance and run the distance as well (more on that in a sec), it’s just the bike that I haven’t covered yet.  That… and putting them all together on the same day…!

The other thing I really want to try is an Xterra triathlon.  These are (usually about) a .62 mile swim, a 14-16 mile mountain bike ride and a 3-5 mile run.  Again, I can do all of these now, it’s just putting them all together that the training will take care of.

The problem with each of these is the same, though…  I need a bike.  My cyclocross bike did OK as a stand in for road triathlons, but it would never stand up to or becomfortable enough for a Half Iron distance.  My old mountain bike (though it could still kick yer ass) is about $1,000 worth of upgrades and fixes away from use.  For not much more you can get a decent full suspension bike (mine is a hardtail).  So my choices are $1,500-1,800 for a mountain bike (no road triathlons next year) or $3,000 for a good road bike (no mountain bike).  I can’t afford both.  Heck, I can’t even afford one!  My choices are down to rob bank or sell kidney…  Not sure what to do.  I may just be doing a lot of training and not much racing.

Back to the road running.  I looked at my training log on Friday and saw that with a 12 mile run, I could get over 30 miles for the week.  Since this would be the longest weekly total for the year, I decided to go for it.  I ended up running 13 miles (longest run of the year) in 1:49.10 which is my fastest recorded half marathon distance by over 5 minutes.

Ya know… Thirteen miles is still a long damn way.  I felt great on the run, never tired and relaxed the whole way.  But shortly after, I started to feel those old twinges in my hips, pelvis and legs again.  Even now, after 3 days and a decent 6 mile run this morning, I am still uncomfortable and feel those twinges and pains from time to time.  I just wonder if I will ever be able to go longer distances again.

Posted via web from Dabigleap

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

