I tried to talk myself out of it…

I mean… C’mon…  It was thundering, lots of lightning, rain, wind, 50 degree temps, DARK (except when the lightning lit up the trail)…  Who on earth runs in that crap.

…that would be… umm… me.

And, of course, 30 or 40 of my closest and most insane buddies and teammates from CMC.

To show how dissimilar my viewpoints are between running and other sports, I don’t even want to get ON my bike if the wind is blowing over 10mph or it’s over 80 degrees.  Yet I ran this morning IN THE MIDDLE of a thunderstorm…

Now, don’t get me wrong.  I tried to talk myself out of it.  In bed, at the computer looking at the radar, on the drive to the trailhead, every second before I opened the car door, while I was waiting to start, in the first half mile, at the first turn, at the second mile… etc.  But I just couldn’t say no.  I LIKE to run.  In ANY conditions.  I just wish I LIKED to do the other stuff as much.  I should WANT to ride.  God knows I NEED to.  But I will almost always drop my bike shoes and head out the door for a run.  I guess I’m just the most comfortable with that sport.

And this is not to say that I’m really that good at running.  I just enjoy it more than anything else.  In fact, of the three sports in triathlon I would have to say that my level of enjoyment rating is: 1.)Running, 2.)Swimming, 3.)Biking.  And yes, I know that this needs to change.  I’m just trying to figure out how.  I’m hoping that introducing mountain biking back into my training will bring back some of the joy and fun to riding that I used to have.  We’ll see…!

Posted via web from Dabigleap

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

