Race Week

If I had to rate my training for each of the three sports in triathlon in preparation for Club Nationals at Redman it would be as follows:

Swim: Good- Feel much better about the swim, the distance, and most importantly my stroke technique.

Bike: Poor- I’m strong, but didn’t get nearly enough miles in.

Run: Good- But WAY overtrained.  I needed more speedwork and less mileage.

 

I did my final “check ride” swim last night at Finger Lakes.  I focused on lengthening my stroke and being as long in the water as possible.  I did not kick (wearing a wetsuit) and breathed in every 4 with a 2 or a 3 as I needed it to see who was around me.  I sighted every six unless I was alone and then I went up to 8 unless I was off course.  I was pulling to the right, which is normal.  I swam the distance in my fastest time to date, covering the 1100 yards in 19:30.  I felt strong, not tired and not winded at the end of it.  I ran 3 miles after at an easy pace and felt really good.

In comparison, I swam 500 yards at the Kansas 50 triathlon in 13:30.  This maps out to 2:42/100yards or just about 1.25 mph.  This was a horrible swim for me and I came out of the water 10 places from last in the mens division.

Yesterday’s swim was 1100 yards in 19:30.  This comes out to 1:46/100yards (almost a minute faster per hundred) at 1.92 mph.  While this is still 30 seconds per hundred slower than the leaders will swim (more or less), I’m not worried about them.  What I want to do is come out of the water mid pack.  I can hold my own on the bike and run if I just don’t start out nearly 8 minutes down out of the water!

So let’s talk goals.  I really think I can do this race in under 1:20.  Looking at the numbers, if I do the swim in 15 minutes, which is a bit slower than the 1:46/100 listed above, do the bike in 40 minutes, which is a 21mph average, which I can definitely cover, and then run the 3 miles in 22 minutes (7:20 pace) that will put me at 1:17.  If I look to match my transition times from Kansas (the ONLY bright spot in that race), my T1 was 1:30 (long run to transition) and my T2 was :48.  That is 2:18 total trasition time.  This would put me across the line at 1:19 and change. 

I’m being conservative with my times in trying to set a realistic goal.  I’m pretty sure I can beat those bike and swim times, but anything under 1:20 would be a good result for me.

This is my taper week, if you will, for this triathlon.  I am taking today off, running easy tomorrow morning, spinning on the trainer tomorrow evening, swimming on Wednesday, riding Thursday evening and then heading down to Oklahoma on Friday! 

In all I think I am ready for this race.  I have no designs on doing anything other than having a good time and giving maximum effort in the race.  I’ve done as much as I could to get ready for it, given my work schedule.  So now there is nothing left to do but let it all hang out and see what happens.  One thing is for sure, I plan on leaving it all on the course.

Posted via web from Dabigleap

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

