A bad case of the stupids

What the hell is wrong with me?  Why can’t I run easy?  I’m gonna hurt myself if I don’t back off… But I put my running shoes on and my IQ drops 20 points… Which is almost down to negative numbers for me… almost…

The “goal” for today’s run was an easy cruise.  Shake the legs out and get ready for a hard ride tonight.  I am a bit tired from all the extra workouts this week so I just wanted to glide through the morning run, maybe 5 miles or so, and then get ready for a hard ride tonight.

Then somebody said go…  I kind of blacked out… Woke up running ridiculously fast and trying to keep up with people that are WAY out of my league and ended up going almost seven miles.  Dumbass…

My time wasn’t super fast because the run this morning was a fun, if a bit awkward one that we call the “Tiger Run”.  It is a good luck run for the Missouri Tigers since they are starting their football season this weekend.  We do it a couple of times per year and it has us going past and “rubbing for luck” some of the famous campus landmarks, ringing the courthouse bell, and climbing up to touch the tiger statue on campus.  All of this is fun, but the footing is precarious and the crowd was big so it forced us to slow down.  This simply meant I ran faster in between landmarks.

Don’t get me wrong.  It felt great!  For a moment.  But then I looked up the “training hill” at my next workout, a normally rocket fast interval workout on the bike (which I desperately need) THIS EVENING and started to really analyze how I feel.  I’m tired.  I’m hungry.  I’m having a lot of muscle twitching.  And I know what all this means.  Tonight is going to suck.

When my leg muscles get twitchy it means I’m low on fuel.  I call these “pre” cramps because I know when I feel them that if I don’t eat EXACTLY the right things, I’m going to cramp up really bad on my next workout.  I’m trying to find my Endurolytes but I think I’m out.  I actually drank some homemade sports drink for BREAKFAST (Fauxtorade).  It’s better for me and doesn’t have all the sweet stuff in it that the commercial ones do, but I need a couple of gallons of it.  I may have to sneak out at lunch and eat a packet of Endurolytes or I’m doomed this evening…

…oh yeah… And then there is a big pool workout in the morning…

…maybe.

Posted via web from Dabigleap

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

