Smooth running and bad bike habits

Seems like when I run now I can slowly feel myself getting stronger from start to finish.  Almost like I’m speeding up the whole trip.  While this is a cool feeling, I think I would like a little more consistency from mile to mile.  The flip side of that is that I have lost the ability to kick.  I can’t tell if it’s just me being lazy (the most likely explanation) or if I am indeed pushing a bit too hard in the final mile and just don’t have anything to “kick” with.  I’m going to start splitting up my Wednesday time between the usual hill ride and Traknights up until nationals just to see if the occasional fast run at Traknight will help me go anaerobic when I need to.

Yesterday was a morning run and an evening solo ride to do hill repeats.  The run was fine and pretty uneventful save for chasing down a few faster guys in the last mile felt kinda good.  My running feels smooth right now.  It’s nice to have at least ONE of the three sport in triathlon that I feel comfortable with…!

The hill repeats were on this short but very steep street.  It can’t be more than 1/4 mile of climbing, but the degree of “up” makes up for the shortness of the climb.  Especially since it gets steeper as it goes up.  I did 10 repeats on it.  The first 3 (and a half) were seated and using my big chainring gears.  The other half of repeat 4 I had to stand to get up the hill.  Once I have to stand I drop down to my small chainring and ride repeats until I have to stand again to finish… then I do one more using any possible combination of methods to get to the top.

I was really focusing on two things on this ride.  Both centering on technigue.  The first was to really try to pull up on my pedal stroke as well as pushing down.  I can tell this works, but it’s not automatic yet.  Sometimes I forget and default back to stomping on the pedals, which is inefficient.  The second was to keep my knees in tight to the top tube (within reason and without using bad form).  I am working on this because my right knee tends to fly out away from the bike on the upstroke.  It’s not a bad thing, but it’s not as efficient as keeping my knee, ankle and hip more in line.  I can tell this is working too, but again, it’s just a bad habit that is hard to break.  Another 5000 miles in the saddle and I should be fine… right?

Posted via web from Dabigleap

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

