That was… unexpectedly fun…!

After working my butt off on the yard today I hopped in the car to head out to the group open water swim at Finger Lakes with my arms shaking every time I raised them over my head.  It hurt to scratch my ear…  One would think that someone who trains for triathlons would not be fatigued by the simple task of weed eating the yard.  However, those who think this have not seen my “yard”.  Two acres of dozens of trees bordering 200 acres plus of forest is a daunting task to “edge”.  The industrial strength “weed eater” I had to buy to do the job can chop down a small tree and manages to coat me in a thick goo of detritus and organic matter each time I “trim” the “yard”.  Needless to say, wielding this 20 pound buzz saw on a stick for 2+ hours can “fatigue” even the toughest triathlete.  So a wussy like me was done about 15 minutes in.  The other hour and fourty five minutes was sheer guts.

SO…  Let’s jump in the water and swim a half mile.  Shall we?

The water temperature, coupled with the fact that EVERYONE (save one… sadistic soul) was jumping into their wetsuits made me decide that I was going to go neoprene as well.  For not knowing what to expect, I was very pleased with the results.  A half mile in WAY less than 30 minutes (26 to be exact) and plenty of gas to spare when I was done. I really tried to focus on swimming level and pushing my chest into the water.  The swim felt easy and comfortable.  I wish I could use wetsuits for ALL my swims!

I pulled on my running shoes and headed out.  The result was an easy 4 mile run in just over 8:15.  No fatigue.  Not tired.  Just a nice cruise through the park.  Great way to end a workout that I was not sure would even go!

Pool tomorrow and then maybe an open water swim in the afternoon.  Two swims in the same day…?  How sick is that?

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

