Someone of my “size”

Really good run this morning.  Not sure how I would feel since my swim/run yesterday was kind of painful.  Mostly the run.  I just felt sluggish and uncomfortable.  I was going to run 3 miles after the swim but only ended up running one so I had no idea what would happen.

As for the swim (first), it was beautiful outside.  A little cooler than usual, but I swam without a wetsuit anyway.  I’m pretty sure the triathlon this weekend will not be wetsuit legal so getting in the exact distance a couple of times without a suit was a confidence boost.  I just need to accept the fact that I am going to be slow in the water for a year or so until I get the strength built up in my shoulders and back to start making me faster.  I also need to work on increasing my cadence in the water and breathing every three strokes.

Today’s run was a different story.  After yesterday, I wasn’t sure if I could even run this morning.  The route had one big hill in it but other than that it was fairly easy.  I spent most of my early miles wishing the pacers would speed up, then they did and I got dropped (as usual!).  Since I felt so bad yesterday, I kept waiting to bonk.  Then I found myself seesawing with a group of about 4 runners and actually GAINING ground on the uphills.  It was at this point that I knew I was in good shape, rather than bad, today.  I set my sights on a female runner who is slightly faster than me.  She slowed on the big uphill but then sped up once we got to the top.  I thought she was going to drop me but I kind of stabilized my pace with hers and then began to reel her in a bit.  Unfortunately she pulled off and stopped.  Although I was gaining, I don’t know how much she had left.  She may well have “chicked” me with a sprint at the end… 😉

On a side note, I was complimented… I think…  by a runner I passed in the last mile or so.  He said “You have a strong pace… for someone your “size” and height.”  Umm, thanks… I think…  Or something…

I ended up averaging 7:40 for six and a half miles.  Take the warmup out and I was at 7: 21.  Not bad for “someone of my “size” and height… (no. That didn’t bug me or anything)

Just when you think you are looking/feeling better…  Maybe if he had seen me six months ago…

…meh.

Unfortunately, even though I have a triathlon this weekend I am having to spend every waking minute on home improvement projects.  Getting away for a ride or run may be tough.  It could be the best thing for me, but it’s frustrating nonetheless.  The Shawnee Mission Triathlon is this Sunday.  I will go down Saturday and spend the night.  It’s just a bit too far to drive at 3am (and be fresh at the starting line!!!).  Hopefully this will help.  If not with my time, maybe at least with my attitude.  And it will allow me to drive the bike course.

Posted via web from Dabigleap

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

