Rain race

OK… Actually it was a “Just after the rain, run in the soup and mud” race.  But it was fun.  The race is called the Parley Pratt 4 miler and it’s a good way to pre burn some guilt calories in case you overindulge on the fourth.

I was going to ride either a half century or a 40 miler today with Columbia Multisport Club but we got rained out.  It seems we got nearly 4 inches of rain last night and it didn’t stop until about an hour after the ride was scheduled to start so common sense won out and they decided to postpone it until tomorrow.  Since I wasn’t going to do it anyway and tomorrow is a swim day for me, I decided to do my first organized run in 3 months! 

I ended up with a decent, albeit a little bit disappointing effort at 29:20 (7:20 pace) for four miles.  I guess I just thought I could run faster.  I’m sure the conditions and the fact that I brutalized myself on Thursday night didn’t help, but I’m not making excuses.  I should be doing better at this point and I was really hoping to run under 7:00 for this race, so I’m not satisfied.  I could feel myself fading in the third mile and my legs got heavy.  That is pure (lack of) fitness.  Nothing more.  I just need to work harder.

Tomorrow is an open water swim (and probably a run) and then I take it easy for the rest of the week.  Next weekend is the Shawnee Mission Triathlon (just south of Kansas City) so I need to ease up and rest a bit.  Call it a taper if you want but I just don’t like to go hard the week before any race, whether it is a goal race or a training race.  Tapering is part of my practice as well.

Ahh well, time to shift gears.  Scraping wallpaper and painting for the rest of the day.  Then blowing things up tonight!  Happy 4th!

Posted via web from Dabigleap

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

