Driftwood

This nickname seems to have stuck when referring to my swimming speed.  I am so painfully slow.  And I really have no idea why.  I have taken lessons.  I have worked out dilligently.  I. Am. S. L. O. W.  And I just can’t figure it out.

I have been told that I am not on plane.  That my legs sink so I am dragging them through the water.  But I don’t know how to fix it.  I have been working on my “catch” or pull through the water.  Nothing is working.  I feel like I’m getting slower.  It was tough today to swim with 15 other people and be dead last coming in.  And I can out ride or run most (not all) of them on any day.  But it sucks to think that I am spotting them 5 minutes on a half mile swim in a triathlon.  That’s a lot of work just to catch up.

The swim itself was beautiful.  The sky was bright blue after a front came through and finally cooled things off after a week of miserable temperatures and humidity. The water was actually warmer than the air.  It was an interesting juxtaposition.The water was nice though.  I just need to get through it faster.  Anyway, it was an 1100 yard swim which is what my next triathlon is.  I felt good enough after the swim to go for a three mile run and, again, the weather was spectacular.  I averaged about an 8 minute pace without much effort at all.  I just wanted to move and this run satisfied the urge.  I couldn’t get any takers to go with me so I ran solo.  I don’t do that much anymore (that is… start AND end alone…).  My mind wandered back to swimming and what to do to make me faster.  I think it’s just going to take time.  I’ve only been swimming for 6 months total so I guess I shouldn’t expect much.  But the problem is, I do.  I expect more out of myself than this.  I’m not sure “MORE” is the answer at this point (as this is usually the easy answer for endurance athletes).  Better…  That’s what I’m looking for.  And I’m willing to work hard to get it, I just don’t know where to look.

Posted via web from Dabigleap

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

