Hot hill repeats

Look, I am never going to admit that bicycling is my favorite thing.  I like it (mountain biking much more so than road biking) but running will always be my thing.  So to get me out on a bicycle on a 102 degree day with dewpoints in the 70s does definitely signal either a change in my thinking or the sure end of the world.  Which one is all a matter of perspective.

I do, however, recognize that if I ever want to get any better as a triathlete I need to ride, a lot.  More than I ever have.  I already have more miles on this bike than any other road bike I have ever owned.  But I need more.  I also have to admit that I am not going to do any longer distances than I have to AND that I am just slow.  Only more riding and less weight will help this.  Therefore, I ride.

Yesterday I set my jaw and decided to suck it up and ride hill repeats in the heat.  I need the miles, and I have to get used to the heat as well.  I put on the lightest clothing I own, slathered myself with suntan lotion and took off.  I decided to take it EASY on everything except the hills themselves.  This ride has a short (1/4 mi?) hill that is extremely steep.  There is another 1/4 mile past that to recover, then it’s a quick trip to the bottom and back up again.  It’s about two miles over to the hill.  I went up a grand total of 4 times and then completely wilted.  But I had made a pact with myself not to get upset (last week I did 12 repeats in the cooler temps) and just write it off as getting used to the heat.  I rode calmly and slowly back toward the car.  But then something odd happened.  I started to feel…  good…?  Almost as if the temperature had dropped 10 degrees.  I was kinda comfortable (albeit sweaty).  So I rode past the car and added another 5 miles of easy to moderate riding.  I daresay it was almost fun.  What is happening to me?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

