Like swimming in hot vegetable soup

Not that I have ever done that…  But if I had, I’m sure today’s swim is just what it would feel like.

Yuck.

The air temperature was 96 degrees with 75 percent humidity.  Doesn’t that sound lovely?  So I couldn’t wait to get in the water, hoping that it would cool me off.  The water temperature HAD to have been 90.  The first four to six inches of water were like a hot tub (only without the bubbles) and the water was GREEN and full of tasty little tidbits.  Every time I found a cool pocket, I wanted to stop and play in it just to cool off.  This may sound normal for some of you but it is all new to me.  I am from the mindset of jumping in the water to COOL OFF…  Not sweat profusely.  One should not FEEL sweaty IN the water.  There were a couple of times where I actually thought I was going to overheat.  Can this happen?

Anyway, I managed a slow 1500 yards and just tried to concentrate on cruising.  At the end, a friend and rocket fast swimmer came out to watch me slog my way in and pointed out that I may be extending my stroke too far back (towards my feet) because I am coming out of the water almost straight armed.  This was in an effort to try to get them most out of my arm stroke but she says I might actually be losing power at the end of my stroke and will definitely be fatiguing my shoulders more by lifting my whole arm out of the water at the same time.

I guess it makes sense, but I really need some pool time to process all of this and experiment with it.  That way I can focus on stroke mechanics without fear of drowning, boats, huge snapping turtles and heat exhaustion.  I feel like I’m getting slower…

Tomorrow is a morning run and a hill repeat ride in the afternoon.  As much as I need that ride, I just don’t know if I can handle the heat yet.  It’s supposed to be close to a hundred tomorrow and I seem to be wilting pretty bad right now so even if I go, I probably won’t be worth much.  Still, I need to acclimatize to the heat.  The MENSA’s who are putting on Club Nationals have decided that in Oklahoma…  in September…  it would be a great idea to start the Sprint distance race at 11am.  This could either go really really good… or really really bad.  I lived in Oklahoma for 24 years and, yes, there were times when the weather was nice in mid September…  I remember both of them very well.  The rest of the time it was at or near 100 degrees and 1oo percent humidity.  Oh… and windy as hell to boot.  But hey… At least the wind doesn’t usually come up until about 10:30 or so.  Oh… Wait…

One Response to Like swimming in hot vegetable soup

  1. Girl Pundit says:

    […] Like swimming in hot vegetable soup (dabigleap.wordpress.com) […]

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

