A goal that wasn’t a goal

Ok… so I was sweating BEFORE my run this morning.  Just standing there.  Dripping.  Seventy four degrees and 98% humidity at 5:30 am.  Ahh… summer in the midwest.

The funny thing was that I ran REALLY fast.  I have no idea why.  It certainly wasn’t the route we chose.  There is about a half mile section of the trail that is just nasty.  They still haven’t fixed it yet from when the flood washed it away.  I’ve renamed the route the ankle breaker for all the baseball sized rocks that were used to temporarily sure up the trail.  They did their job but now they demand complete attention from all who dare attempt this route.  One wrong foot placement and your day, summer and whole season will be through.  I have no intention of running this route again until it is fixed…!

But even with my disaster avoidance running style I still managed a 7:28 average for 5 miles.  I’m sure there were a couple of 8:30 miles in there with the warmup and whole pack dodging rocks at the same time so I had to have been running a couple of 7:00 miles in there!  Since this route was an out and back, I got to grin sheepishly at all the other runners who were going long today as I ran past them on the way back.  It was hard not to feel a little guilty that I wasn’t going as far as everyone else, but then again…

Tomorrow I am going to attempt a swim workout that is the farthest I have ever swam.  Three thousand yards may not seem like a lot to you Ironman types, but it will be a huge accomplishment for me if I can make it.  To go from not being able to swim… to swimming over a mile and a half… in six months… is big.  I don’t care WHO you are.  It has never been my goal to swim long distances, but I’m proud of the accomplishment nonetheless.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

