Thunder run

I awoke, as expected, to the sound of thunder this morning.  The weather that moved through last night dumped over 2 inches of rain on us and I knew it hadn’t stopped yet.  But I was scheduled for my usual morning run and as I have always maintained, if the temperature is over 50 I really enjoy running in the rain.  I quick check of the weather on the way out the door showed a HUGE area (about 100 miles wide) of moderate rain but no severe stuff so I decided that a run would be just the ticket.

After having to detour around a road that was flooded out (ominous sign… but it didn’t lead to anything thank goodness), I rolled into the parking lot and was surprised to see quite a few people milling about in the rain and occasional flash of lightning.  Our route on rain days is always the same so we didn’t even need an announcement.  We knew where we were going.  We actually even had a couple of new people show up as well.  We ended up with about 40 runners by my estimate so not a bad group for a soggy day.  The trail holds up well under most conditions and even though the creek running beside it had swelled to a raging torrent that threatened to overflow (again) we moved off into the early morning thundershower.

The bad news is that it was still unbelievably humid.  But the cooler temps and rain helped keep me comfortable through the run and my new hat kept the sweat out of my eyes and rain off my face so the rain was really a non issue.  My biggest trouble was picking a line that a.) didn’t take me through too many puddles and b.) didn’t force me to cut people off in the pack.  And actually, the worst puddle I hit was right in the middle of a main road we have to cross (didn’t see that one coming…!).  Yes, my shoes were very squishy when I got done but that was to be expected.

I did notice though that I still tense up a bit when I run in bad weather and I can really feel it about half way through the run.  My legs feel heavy and I breathe harder than I should.  I think I’m just paying a little too much attention to the road and it makes running a conscious effort, which makes me work harder.  Either way, a big downhill at about the 5 mile mark made everything better and I averaged about 8:00/mi pace which is decent in a thunderstorm.  I really love the rain.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

