Mixing it up

A friend and I did a run/swim/run brick this morning.  A three mile run from her house to the lake, then a 1500 yard swim, then 3 miles back to the house.  She is a bit slower on the run than I am but MUCH faster on the swim (she is a swim instructor), but we decided to do the whole thing together anyway so it really didn’t matter.

The run was easy and comfortable (if a bit hair raising on the narrow roads around her house) and we had stowed our stuff at a friends house that lived on the lake, so we just had to trot over to it and carry it back to the lake.  I was concerned that the cool outside temperature would transfer to the water so I brought my wetsuit.  It was borderline whether I should have or not but I wore it anyway.  It gave me a chance to focus on my swim technique a bit even though it got a bit warm.  The water was just starting to go through an algae bloom so there was a vegetable soup of pea sized snot floating in the water which made the visibility zero and the water kinda gross smelling.  I doubt seriously we will be able to swim there much longer if it continues.  Blech…

The run home was equally as uneventful as the run out.

It is fun to do different kinds of workouts like this.  I will admit though, that after the aquathon, swim lesson and today’s swim… I’m pooped.  My arms and back are sore and weak feeling.  Partly because I am swimming just a little differently now and using different muscles, and partly because after I got in yesterday I spent the afternoon shoveling dirt, which uses an amazingly similar group of muscles…

I think it might be time to switch back to emphasizing the bike though.  I have done a LOT of swimming in the past couple of weeks, but I need more bike time.  I didn’t intentionally move away from it and I managed to get almost 60 miles in last week, but I would like to put in a couple of hundred plus mile weeks just to really get me going.  My longest bike leg this year will be 18 miles but it would be nice to really have the strength built up to not have to worry about it!

My next triathlon is in less than a month and it has a longer swim and run.  I’m OK with the swim and run but know that the more I work on the bike now, the better everything else will feel.  The weather looks to be heating up for good so this may have been my last open water swim in a wetsuit for a while.  I’m sure this triathlon will not be wetsuit legal so I am going to try to do the rest of my swims without one.  I also need to start doing some noon runs at work just to start adapting to running in the heat.  I have been running at 5:30 or 6:00am for so long that it has spoiled me to cooler temperatures.  If I don’t get used to it I will wilt and I know it.

This week I have to travel (just a day) so it will interrupt things a bit so I am going to try to get a ride in tomorrow and maybe some stationary bike time at the hotel on Tuesday evening, then hit the bike hard on Thursday Friday and Saturday.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

