I love choices

Did another hill repeat workout last night on the bike.  Ended up doing about 18 miles with the repeats and I was good and tired when I got home.  I don’t “feel” any faster but at least I was able to maintain the same pace for all 6 repeats (within about 2 seconds!) so even though the perceived speed is not there, at least I’m consistent.  I also think this is a good sign for my endurance.  But I also realize that I need to start extending out my longer rides an add some interval work as well.  Need to change my biking plan a bit.

This morning was a group run.  Either the group was REALLY slow this morning or I was feeling pretty good because I sat on the heels of the lead pack until the turnaround.  I went short today (we usually have a short, medium and long distance marked out) because I really didn’t need more than the six miles I ran.

I know that sounds funny from a “runner’s mentality”, but when I am training for triathlons, I find that the more I measure and stick to a training plan, the better I feel.  It’s easy for runners who do triathlons to default back to what feels good/they are comfortable with, but you can’t do that.  If you run extra miles it will actually HURT your other two sports.  I find this to be true (for me, no scientific studies to back it up) if I overindulge in any of the sports.  Setting realistic and achievable goals is important in any training plan but sticking to them like glue is CRITICAL in triathlon.  Balance is key.  I try to run 3 days, swim 3 days and bike 3 days (yes, I know that’s nine days).  Three days a week I either do two a day workouts or some type of brick and I take one day completely off.  This works well for me.  Your results may vary.  I also try to keep my schedule flexible enough to accommodate work and the occasional special workout that pops up.

For instance, this weekend there are a ridiculous number of rides, runs, triathlons and other stuff to do.  There are two 5Ks, a big triathlon and a smaller one on opposite sides of the state, 3 bike rides and a club aquathon.  Saturday I am planning on doing part of an early ride and then doing the aquathon (swim 400/run 1 mi, repeat til you pass out).  There is also a swim clinic afterward that I am going to attend.  And this is all before noon.  Doing fun stuff like this makes training interesting and challenging.  I think this is one of the main differences for me between this and my marathon training back in the day.  The vast majority of my workouts now are group workouts (until I get dropped!).  Most, if not all of my workouts for marathon training were solo.  This was tough for me.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

