Short but steep

After a good 6.5 mile run yesterday morning I could have called it good and not worried about getting in a bike ride, but my growing triathlon induced OCD had me monitoring the weather on a minute by minute basis all afternoon to see if the storms rolling through our area would part just long enough for me to get some hill work in.

Right at 5pm the clouds parted and my doubt changed to joy and I made a hasty exit to the local bicycle gathering spot.  I wasn’t surprised to be the only one there and WAS actually surprised to see someone else show up.  Actually, two someones.  The first is a local triathlete who is doing a full ironman next week in Coeur d’Alene and is equally obsessively trying to get just one more workout in.  The second was a girl I didn’t recognize and never got to meet.  My time was short so I took off early and just met them on the hill.

This hill is short (about 1/3 mi) but steep (20-25% grade?) so if you push it you can go totally anaerobic at the top.  The last time we did this hill I was only able to do one repeat in my big ring and then had to surrender to the small ring after that.  I was determined to do more this time but knew that I was only going to be able to do 6 repeats or so before I had to leave.  I was pretty happy when I ended up doing 2 1/2 repeats in the saddle in the big ring.  Then 2 1/2 more out of saddle.  I ended up only doing one in my small ring.  I may not be getting faster, but I’m getting stronger.  Working on the push/scrape/pull pedal stroke is also helping.  My quads don’t burn out nearly as fast now and I feel like I have energy for the next hill.  It has taken a while for my hammies to get used to the pull, but I do feel stronger on the hills.

Good luck to Jeremy this weekend at Coeur d’Alene.  Time to celebrate all this hard training with a grate race!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

