Ahh…(choo), spring (sniffle)

I’ve been quiet on the blog for the last few days.  Mostly because my eyes are so itchy and watery that I can’t focus on a computer screen.  It seems to have let up momentarily (of course… it’s Monday.) so I am going to try to catch up between the sniffles and sneezes.

Yes, I have seasonal allergies and, well… it’s that season.  From Friday on I have been absolutely miserable.  Horrific pounding headache, sneezing, coughing, drainage… the whole works.  It’s lovely.

But it hasn’t stopped me from working out.  In fact, the only way I can actually breathe is when I’m exercising.

Saturday morning I switched up from my scheduled ride to a run with my old running buddies.  Even though I felt bad from the neck up I decided to go ahead and run as much as I could.  We started off running between the raindrops in a light thundershower and, not surprisingly, as soon as I started running and the blood went to my legs instead of my sinuses, I felt better.  Not great… but better.  I thought we were going to be running in the rain the whole way but after a brief downpour, the rain let up and the morning was beautiful.

I wanted to run at least 7 miles and thought I might push that out to 10 miles if I felt like it.  I settled into a nice, easy, conversational pace (although I was alone… which just meant I COULD have talked all the way through it if I had had someone to talk to) and tried to pretend that I felt better.  I cruised along, watching the clouds, avoiding the puddles, sneezing, etc.  I got to the 5 mile mark and felt REALLY good so I decided to keep going and do the full 10 miles.

I finished up at a very consistent, easy 8:30 pace.  The most glaring thing I took away from this run was that I didn’t hurt at all.  In fact, I felt like I could have gone more or done something else.  I also didn’t hurt the next day (or today!) which is very encouraging when I think about the possibility of doing half marathons/marathons this fall!  I know the biggest difference (besides I’m in better physical condition) is that I am losing weight again (184!) which is taking the pressure off of my lower body.

Yesterday I woke up and felt a little better.  The itchy, sneezies were still there but the pressure on my sinuses was better and I could see straight.  So after a quiet morning we packed up the fishing gear and went to the lake.  I knew the club would be there in the afternoon to do an open water swim, but I wasn’t sure I would be up to it.  I took my stuff just in case but wanted to see how I felt out in the wild before I decided.  The good news is that I felt pretty good.  As 3pm rolled around I decided to go ahead and swim.  I really needed one more swim in my wetsuit just to be comfortable.  I probably could have gone without it and got a little warm, but that was OK.  This is all new to me so the more experience I get, the better.  I only swam 1100 yards and other than the fact that my hands went to sleep at the end, I felt like I could have done at least 1100 more.  That’s a good feeling to have going into a race with a swim distance of only 500 yards…!

This week I am out of town today through Thursday on business so who knows what I will do.  It all depends on what is around me and I haven’t gotten the opportunity to check yet.  I’m hoping to find a park close by to run at and maybe the hotel will have a stationary.  I probably won’t swim again until the race.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

