Cling On (sic)

As slow as I am on the bike, I usually dread the group rides the clubs (Columbia Multisport and/or Columbia Bicycle Club) put on because I either take off with a group that is too fast for me and get dropped or ride with a slow group and end up way out in front of them.  Either way, I ride alone.  Maybe I just don’t “get” road biking yet.  Maybe I’m supposed to do something I don’t know I’m supposed to do yet.  Maybe I’m missing some roadie protocol.  Regardless, most rides I feel like the only place I’m going to see another bike is in the parking lot.  And I’m not whining or complaining, that’s just the way it is.

So after a hard run in the rain yesterday morning I spent the rest of the day debating whether I should go to the evening hammerfest known as Interval Night.  In the end, insanity won out over common sense and I went, despite feeling exhausted and foggy from all the allergy meds I am taking.

The usual suspects were there.  All of the CBC guys that I knew I would never hang with.  All of the fast triathletes I knew I would never hang with.  All of the others that I’m just a bit too fast to hang back with.  Yup… Another lonely ride ahead.

But as I sat there waiting to start I kind of got frustrated with my current state of physical conditioning.  I don’t think I have been pushing hard enough on the bike and have been accepting what I get and I wasn’t happy with that.  The riders decided to work pace lines for intervals so we broke up into groups of 4-6.  I finally decided to go with a group of two fast women riders and two fast men riders and just see how long I could hang on.  But I was going to work really hard to keep up.  The route was a 27 mile out and back and we would put in two intervals of 4 miles and 4 intervals of 2 miles, plus whatever else we decided to do.  I just decided to sit on the back of the pace line and hang on for all I was worth.

After about a 2 mile warmup we hit the start of the first interval and the line sped up.  I stuck to the wheel of the rider in front of me and tried not to pay attention to anything but the road and spinning my pedals.  I noticed that everyone was spinning slower gears really fast, so I shifted up and did the same.  We were averaging about 110-120 rpm and roughly 24mph for the interval.  I felt much better than I thought I would and ended up with the group at the end of the first interval.  And then the second.  And the third.  And the halfway point.

Although I was pleased to be with the group for this far, I knew when we stopped to regroup at the halfway point that my intervals were numbered though because as soon as my foot hit the ground, my calf cramped.  I grabbed my water bottle only to realize I had forgotten to fill it.  …doomed.

We started back up and I actually took a pull at the front.  Then the two girls in our group “chicked” me (passed me really fast and dropped me).  All I could do was grin and wave goodbye.  I never saw them again.  As we got to the top of a small rise, the two other guys in the group saw that the women had slowed down and said “Let’s get them!”  I hopped up out of the saddle and every muscle in my body seized at the same time.  I flopped back down weakly in the saddle and surrendered.  It was fun to watch them chase the ladies down though.  And once again, I finished the ride alone.

But I was encouraged.  I think if I plan better (like filling my water bottle and bring a Gu) and don’t go so hard in the morning run, I might actually be able to hang with some of the faster riders.  I’m not fast yet and I admit that.  But working a pace line helps.  And I’m also learning more about when to shift, etc. from the other riders.  I’m really glad I went.  With the speed ups, slow downs, stop at the half and running out of gas half way back, I still managed just over 20 mph.  This is much faster (almost 2mph) than I have ever done this route.  And I’m really not sore or anything this morning.  But I did decide to take today off.  I can tell I need it.  Tomorrow will be a morning run (with the Uprise group!  Yay!) and then an afternoon open water swim so today is a good day to relax.  One week to Innsbrook!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

