One run, two runs.

Sorry for the back to back posts.  This will be a short one.

This morning’s run was a tale of two runs.  When I woke up my allergies were in full force.  I couldn’t breathe, itchy, sneezy… all the dwarves except Doc.  It wasn’t raining but it was M.U.G.G.Y.  Gah…  Even with the cooler temps it was still a bit oppressive.  I took as much allergy medication as I knew my stomach would handle and sniffled my way out to the car.

The skies were so overcast that it was still pretty dark when we took off on a run called “Dave’s Devil”.  Named such not because it is a particularly tough run (one big hill) but simply because it is 6.66 miles… 😉  The dark did little to improve my mood but as soon as we started running my nose opened up and I could breathe again.  For this reason alone I really didn’t want to stop running.

This was really a tale of two runs.  The first half of this run was miserable.  I ran right up against the lead pack in the first mile.  It seemed like they were going slow.  I felt tired but was having no trouble hanging with them and then at about mile two, they took off and dropped me like a rock.  All I could do was put my head down and run.  The first small hill we hit felt like it was draining my energy but I also seemed to be catching some people that went out with the lead pack, so I stuck with it.  About half way through the run there is a BIG down followed by a BIG up.  Not so much in grade OR length, but a combination of just enough of both to be a challenge.  I lengthen my stride out on downhills and lean forward a bit to gain some free speed and this really seemed to be working for me.  I caught up to a group that is usually a little faster than me.  I figured they would drop me again on the uphill but somewhere about half way down the hill I seemed to all of a sudden feel better.  I had energy and legs.  I surged on the uphill and stayed right in the middle of them.  I was even able to pull away on the flat at the top of the hill without much effort and I didn’t feel winded.  The rest of the run was spent picking of those who went out a bit too fast.  We got to the top of the last hill before a big downhill to the finish and the skies opened up and began to pour on us.  But this only lasted a moment or two and by the time we got to the bottom of the hill it had stopped.  It didn’t matter anyway because about 1/4 mile into the run I was pouring with sweat and the rain actually felt good.

I finished just under 8 minutes per mile average.  This was a surprise since I felt much slower, especially in the first half.  It was nice to hear people saying I looked strong today.  Especially since it didn’t feel that way.

I think I will jump on the bike trainer tonight and just spin for an hour or so.  The weather is too sketchy today to get caught out in a downpour.  Besides, it’s momma’s night out so there really isn’t enough time for anything else.  I need to work really hard this week on the bike and then take it easy next week since I will be out for work most of it and it’s a taper week anyway.  My first open water triathlon is June 6th!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

