Krak-A-Dawn ride

Had a good, leisurely 5.5 mile run last night.  It was beautiful outside and I needed a recovery run so I went to a trail close to my house and just took off in a direction for a while.  My relatively flat run was interrupted only by one monster of a hill, but I felt ok going up it and knew it was the only thing between me and the rest of an easy run so I just put my head down and pretended it wasn’t there.  It didn’t work, of course… but I got up it ok and went on about my business.

It has been windy so much for the last month that last night (and this morning) the absence of wind was noticeable.  Especially when I stopped and a flash flood of sweat began to pour off my shirt and shorts.  Ewww…  Ahh… summer running.

This morning I was up bright (questionably) and early (definitely) for a new ride called the “Krak-A-Dawn” ride.  We left at 6 am for a 24 mile loop around the outskirts of town.  Good group and fun to ride with.  They stopped to wait fore everyone to catch up a bit too much, but that was ok.  Still got a nice ride in and then threw in a bonus brick mile just to remind me how much it hurts to run right off the bike!  I hope they keep doing it because it was an enjoyable route and the people are nice.  I’m a little faster than most and dog slow compared to the rest, so I was sandwiched nicely between them so I didn’t get lost.  I’m really focusing on high cadence and spinning the pedals in a circle (instead of mashing big gears).  It seems to be helping not only my speed but also how tired my legs are at the end of the ride.

The rest of the day today will be spent remodeling and I might just take tomorrow off.  Then I’m out to a local lake on Monday for a real open water swim and a picnic with the family.  Happy Memorial Day!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

