Busy pool

I was back at the pool this morning.  As much as I tried to convince myself not to go, I found myself staring into the water blankly at 6:15… as usual.  The pool has been unusually busy this week and today was no exception.  I jumped in a shared lane and did 400 warm up but still didn’t really have a plan for the workout.  I toyed with the idea of making this an endurance day by swimming a slightly shorter overall distance, but swimming a longer distance main set.  I felt fine on the warmup so I went with it.  I decided to do 1000 yards with a pull buoy and then 200 straight swim and call it a day.

Of course, half way through the swim I found myself surrounded by other swimmers and had to stop for a second to explain that I was in the middle of a long run, going kind of slow and that we needed to circle swim and they could just tap me and I would let them by.  It was a little irritating at first buy I got over it and it really wasn’t an issue.

A thousand yards in a 25 yard pool is MONOTONOUS.  The hardest part is keeping count of your laps.  I felt very comfortable the whole way, didn’t kick at all and probably should have swam harder as I wasn’t really even tired at the end of it.  I do think, though, that if I am going to do longer distances I should really save it for open water.  I’m glad I did it, but it was a little boring.

I’m hoping to get a run or ride in today as well and then another good ride in tomorrow, possibly a longer brick?  Sunday is open right now and then Monday (man I love long weekends!) the club is doing an open water swim at this cool old quarry with a lake that is very narrow and about 500 yards long.  That should be fun.  Next week will be my last good week for training and then the week after that I travel for a couple of days so I will have to train as I can.  Two weeks until my first open water triathlon!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

