A little go, and a little no go

In a tale of two workouts, last night I went over to the usual spot for the start of the hill ride and patiently waited for the chatter to die down so we could finally get going.  I blew through 15 minutes of my alloted time (my DW has a planned mommy break on Tuesdays that I try desperately not to interfere with) waiting to start and by the time it was on the route had changed to a grueling two hour slog up some really ugly hills that I really didn’t want any part of, so I just headed to a close local hill that was tough enough to give me a good workout and banged away on my own.  This was the “no go” part of my workout.

I just felt sluggish.  Like I had no power.  My middle chain ring even seemed too hard (granted, this is a STEEP, albeit short, hill) and I thought I might even have to drop down into my granny gear (a convenient feature on my Kona…!).  I managed to slug through 7 repeats in about 30 minutes (the hill is about a third to a half mile long from stop sign to stop sign) but felt aweful.  Just weak and slow.  It was definitely a workout I was glad to see the end of.

Then I jumped in the pool this morning for the “go” portion of the workout.  Six hundred yards of drills, then 3 X 4oo back to back (30 seconds rest), then finish with some 50 yard sprints.  I felt surprisingly good.  In fact, I timed my last 400 and it was 30 seconds faster than my fastest time ever!  …yes, I counted my laps properly… ;p  And my 50s were: 52, 51, 50, 48!  The times themselves aren’t great by swimmer standards, but the fact that the splits were negative pleases me.  It means I’m getting stronger in the water.  I doubt I will ever be “fast”, but better is always good.

I have too many choices tonight for workouts.  I’m overwhelmed.  I can either go to Traknight and run hills, go to the Wednesday ride and RIDE more hills, or I can go to Stephen’s Lake and swim some more in open water for the first time EVER!  I’m leaning towards either swimming again or running hills.  I know I need the bike time but they are doing the same hill I did last night and I just don’t know if I have the heart to do it again.  Decisions… decisions…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

