Catch up drill

Horrific weather on Friday afternoon (tornado warnings, 3+ inches of rain per hour, etc.) put the squash on my afternoon ride/run plans.  Then on Saturday we spent the day in St. Louis at my son’s Karate tournament and I was pooped when I got home so I didn’t do anything.  So yesterday I decided that I would do a swim/bike brick to catch up.  Got to the pool… no goggles…  crap.  I swam about 300 yards total but that was all I could tolerate.  My eyes were on fire and I just couldn’t tolerate it.  Then I wandered, bleary eyed, out to the van, put my bike together and took off.  It was a beautiful day and I just cruised around town.  I seemed to pick the busiest roads I could but I was looking for a few hills to conquer and didn’t want to stray too far from home.  The promise of my first steak for dinner in over 2 months had me drooling the entire ride…!  I charged and barged my way through traffic and ended up with about 18 miles.  Not great, but they were good miles so I’ll take them.  The steak was worth the wait…

This morning I went to the pool and put in 2100 yards.  I felt slow and sluggish but my endurance was there.  I felt like I could have kept going and my last 800 was easy to get through.  Of course, once I got home I checked my email and found out that there is an open water swim tonight.  Although I really want to do this, I know better than to try to do two long swims in one day.  Especially when one of them would be my FIRST open water swim.  Not smart.  I keep hoping the wetsuit fairy will show up at my door but I’m not convinced that’s going to happen.  What I don’t want to do is drop a ton of money on a wetsuit and then end up using it 3 or 4 times and that’s all.  The water is still just a little cold to do more than a few laps so the only other thing I can hope for is that it warms up (which it looks like it might) enough to make outdoor swims a bit more tolerable and then just go polar bear and swim without a wetsuit.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

