Still in a hole

After a hard run on Tuesday, a track workout Wednesday night and the looming thought of running this morning and then riding this afternoon, I decided on the way to the run this morning that I would back off and recover today.  The route, called the rain run (I’m not sure why… other than we run it in the rain or just after a rain… or when the trail is messed up due to rain…  OK… Maybe I do know why we call it the rain run…), took us up the trail in the early morning light and then through downtown, across campus and then back down the trail.

I ran with my old running buddy Kathy.  She has been training for Boston all winter/spring so we haven’t seen each other much and it was nice to catch up and find out what she was up to.  It made the run go really fast as well.  I run by myself so much (due to my pace more than anything else) that running with someone is almost unique now.  I was glad to have the company though as I was tired and just a teeny bit sore from traknight.  Not enough to complain about, but noticable.

Tonight I am going to ride alone with the group again.  Don’t think about that too much.  What it means is, just like my running pace, I am somewhere between the B group and the A group in speed.  Since cycling especially seems to be a pack sport, I can either ride slower than I normally would to stick with the B group or ride alone because I have NO CHANCE of keeping up with the A group.  The B group has been riding about 16-18mph on this route but the A group seems to be going about Warp 3.5 (23-25mph).  Since I am riding about 20mph right now, I ride alone.  This isn’t a complaint, it’s just the way it is right now.  I just need to get faster on the bike and that will take time (and losing more weight).  Until then, I enjoy the scenery and dream fast dreams.

Then after that is over, if I still have any energy, we have the club monthly meeting tonight.  We are going to be getting more details about Club Nationals so I want to hear about that.  It’s also another chance to pick brains and get to know people.  I know most of them, but they don’t know me yet.  So it’s always nice to get together with them.

The rest of the week is a swim, maybe a ride and that’s about it.  My son has a karate tournament in St. Louis on Saturday so that day is shot (but should be fun).  I may try to sneak in one more swim on Sunday.  I think next week I need to do as many bricks as I can.  I’m also looking for as many open water swim opportunities as I can get which means the weather needs to warm up a bit.  I never thought I would hear myself say that!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

