Goodbye old friend (and hello new one!)

I did it!!!  I ran at traknight without straining something!

…what?

This is a good thing…

Of course, to do so I had to repeat over and over “I will not go all out, I will not go all out…” .  And I cut the workout short.  But it was still good to run fast.  I haven’t done that in a while.  And I’m definitely faster.  Still not as fast as the big boys but getting stronger.

And something else happened today.  I said goodbye to an old friend.  This goes back to one of my original goals when I moved from California to Missouri in 2006.  I said that one of the things I really wanted was to have enough money to buy a full sized truck.  Something I have always wanted.  I met that goal and bought a 2005 F-150.  HUGE V-8 engine.  12mpg if I was lucky.  It got me through 18 inches of snow.  Loads of mud.  Endless trips to Home Despot and around the back yard hauling rocks, wood and dirt.  But $4 a gallon gas was brutal and even at $2 a gallon I was still spending well over $100 a month using for it’s main purpose which was commuting my saggy butt around to work and workouts.  For every hour I used it as a truck (hauling, towing, etc.), I used it 50 hours as a commuter car.  It just didn’t add up.

So with a heavy heart (and a fortuitous phone call from a car salesman with a good offer for the truck) I took one last ride with the family in my awesome truck down to the Honda dealership and traded it in for this:

Honda Fit

A 2009 Silver Honda Fit.  It’s VERY cool.  Especially with a 10 gallon gas tank and a 30mpg rating!  And the best part is that the back is CAVERNOUS.  I can reconfigure the seats and my bike fits perfectly just behind the front seats.  Which still gives me storage room in the back.  For a triathlete transport device, it’s perfect.  And it still fits the family comfortably for trips around town or across the state.  I love it.

Will I miss my truck?  Yes.  About 5 days per year.  But I will forget about it every time I pull up to the pump.  Which should be about 5 times per year…!

Updated 12/09/2009

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

