Down off the high a bit

Nothing to bring you down off the high of a good race like riding with people that are WAY faster than you.  Especially when one of them is coming off injury and was out for only his SECOND ride of the year and still smoked me on the hills.  GAWD I’m slow.  And the more people tell me to be patient and that it just takes time, the more I just want to tell them to piss off…  Even though I know they are right.

All I can do, though, is ride.  And last night, I did.  Hill repeats on Old Plank road.  A roughly one mile hill that is not overly steep, but challenging when you do it over and over.  I thought we were going to a different hill so I was a bit disappointed, since it is shorter but much more challenging.  Nonetheless, any ride is a good ride at this point and I need as many of them as I can get.  I am still at the point where I can crunch big gears “OR” spin smaller ones.  I have yet to hit the point where I can spin a bigger gear going uphill.  I’m thinkin’ steroids…  OK… maybe not.

You know how you hear people talk “around” a problem?  They look at other causes for a problem when the real root is right there in front of them.  They just refuse to look at it?  I’m there.  I KNOW what the problem is.  I would be a much faster rider/runner/swimmer/tiddlywink player/etc. if I could just LOSE WEIGHT.  I’m hauling an extra 20-30 pounds up those hills and, although gravity is my friend on the downhills, that extra pull on gravity is obvious when I watch people cruise by me on the ups looking like they aren’t even working.  GAH!

Two a day workouts, no alcohol or soda, cutting back my intake… all with PAINFULLY slow results.  Maybe a pound a month.  If I’m lucky.  I know, this is fine and at least it’s going down.  But at this rate it will take me 3 years to hit my goal weight.  I just don’t know if I can maintain this kind of schedule (or especially DISCIPLINE) for that long.  Then again, if I can continue to stick with this routine, maybe it will just be a way of life by then.  Who knows…

In any case, I’m not going to stop.  I would just like to be rewarded for my efforts by the scale every once in a while.  I look at the pictures my darling wife took at my first triathlon and, although I’m proud to have done it, I can’t help just seeing a fat guy in spandex.  I’m just not happy with what I see.  And even with all the improvements I see in times, etc., until those pictures show a thinner person I won’t be satisfied.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

