Couldn’t let it go…

Look…  I did this for a living back in the day.  Sports event planning and implementation.  I was an area director for Special Olympics in California.  We had a very large and vibrant program.  We also enjoyed the best weather and facility combination in SoCal.  This made our events very popular.  I spent 4 years being the tip of the spear and having hundreds to sometimes thousands of people relying on me and my team to get the job done and make the events go off. We only failed in this attempt three times.  Once the week after the Northridge earthquake, once when it rained 4 inches in a day and the Ventura pier fell into the ocean and once when the restaraunt we were having our fundraiser at closed for good without warning.  Not a bad record for over 100 events in 4+ years.  The point is I know the feeling of having lots of people depend on you to follow the old “the event goes” addage and then have things go horribly wrong.

So when I heard that the area where the organizers of this weekend’s (and my first) triathlon had flooded (again) and all of their stuff was under 6 feet of water… I almost threw up.  I have felt that feeling and know what they were in for.  So when they made the call for volunteers for a salvage effort, I couldn’t help it.  I had to help if I could.

So yesterday I spent the entire afternoon washing a layer of brown goo off of portable fencing, signs, cones, tents, and everything else you usually see clean and shiny at a big event.  In the rain (irony?).  I didn’t do it for any other reason than I HAD to.  I would have felt terrible if I didn’t.  Yes, this is a big event.  Yes, this is the price of being an event management/promotin business.  But this is my home town and these are people I know.  How could I not help?  Columbia Multisport Club and Ultramax gave me the chance to get my fitness back by being a great group and putting on fun events.  How could I not give back?

Anyway, today is packet pick up for the triathlon!  Weather tomorrow is forcast to be cool (50s at start time) and partly cloudy with a slight chance of showers.  I figure since I spent 4 hours using a pressure washer in the rain yesterday, that’s my rain training…!  I will be doing a light “mini” triathlon today at the pool and then fussing over my gear for the rest of the evening.  I already have no idea what to wear… *sigh*  I need to clean my bike off and get a chain cleaner for it. 

Transition/registration opens at 5am and with over 800 triathletes/duathletes competing I’m going to need to be there at 4:30 to get a good parking spot and rack spot for my bike.  The problem is that with my swim time I probably won’t actually “start” until sometime around 8:30 so it will be a long wait.  Still, it will be cool to see the elites go off.  Simon Lessing is supposed to be attending and may even compete.  That would be cool!  I wish I could see them on the bike/transitions.  So much to learn yet…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

