Go easy, little truck…

…extra points if you can tell me what book that is from…!

The hardest part of any sort of taper, no matter how short, is resisting the urge to crank it up.  You train and work hard to get to the race but then just when you feel the best, you have to back off.  Don’t get me wrong, tapering really helps and is the right thing to do for a goal race.  But going short distances at 3/4 speed feels weird.

I was on the trainer tonight just to get some seat time on my bike.  It had rained all day and I just didn’t feel like fighting puddles.  I decided to do a brick of an easy half hour on the bike followed by a 2 mile run at an 8 minute pace.  The bike was fine and gave me a chance to do a few minor adjustments I have been putting off.  I am satisfied with how it shifts and my seat position now, so I am good to go.  But I really wanted to crank it up on the run.  Eight minute miles seemed too easy.  I know this is a good thing, but resisting pressing the “faster” button on the treadmill was hard.

We got about 2.1 inches of rain last night and it destroyed a chunk or two of the MKT trail here in town.  It’s the second time this has happened in a year. Frustrating but natural.  Nothing we can do about it.  Luckily the city portion of the trail is very well maintained and when the threat of flooding goes away, the trail will be fixed immediately.  There were crews out surveying it in the rain today.  I love this place…!

Tomorrow is an easy swim.  Not because I have to but just because I want to.  Probably no more than 1000 yards easy working on form and technique.  It’s supposed to be a day off so I guess I will let the rest of the day go without doing anything… !  Saturday I will do a final shakedown of my bike and a light swim/jog.

Sunday is the race and they are expecting over 800 triathletes and duathletes!  I’ve never seen that many bikes in one place before.  It should be awesome!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

