Taper week for the triathlon

I was a little tired Monday morning for my last scheduled long pool workout before the triathlon so I decided to re-arrange my schedule so that I could do it Wednesday instead.  I was glad I took that extra half day off.  I would have been useless in the pool.

Monday evening I tossed my bike on the trainer (rainy/stormy outside) and cruised for 45 minutes, just to keep my legs fresh.  I tried to stay in my aero bars the entire time, just to keep a comfort level in them and I varied my cadence but tried to keep it high.

Tuesday I ran with the club and got to see my friends that had run Boston for the first time since they got back.  I wanted to run no more than 4 miles but, of course, the route master chose Tuesday to pick one of the longest routes we run.  I ran the shortest of the distances but still went 5.8 miles.  I don’t think this will hurt me and it felt really good.  I started out running with my friends and they were running slow to recover so it was a nice talking pace.  They wanted to go a little farther than I did so we split off and then I picked up the pace.  Even though the first two miles were at a nine minute pace, I still finished with an 8:10 average.  Even though I wasn’t checking splits I know I ran a couple of 7-7:30 miles in there but didn’t feel fatigued or sore.  I’ll take that as a good sign.

Today I hit the pool a little early but swam about 1300 easy yards in a mix of long and short intervals.  I really just thought about technique and relaxing in the water.  I didn’t seem to warm up until I hit about 800 yards.  Hopefully this won’t be a big deal on race day since I can’t get in the pool until it’s my time to swim.  We’ll see…

I’m going to try to get on the trainer tonight and spin easy for a half hour or so and then go for a run tomorrow with the group.  I might try to go out and do some hill repeats on the bike tomorrow night if it’s not raining.  Otherwise I may only ride one more time before the race.

It’s time to shift to race planning and visualizing all the steps involved.  There is so much more planning in triathlon.  Even when I ran the marathon all I had to do was make sure I had enough clothes to keep me warm until the gun went off and that I had my fuel with me.  With this triathlon I need a backpack full of crap all lined up in the proper order so that when I get to the transition area it is all waiting for me.  And I have to play a lot of “what if” scenarios like “what if it rains (bike and/or run), what if it’s cold (swim/bike/run), etc.  I’m not complaining, it’s just different and will take some time to get used to.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

