Getting closer!

Last night I did a group brick with the newbie group.  It was a bike/run/bike of about 20 total bike miles and an 18 minute run.  Our group seems to have dwindled a little as there were only 9 of us total, with three either being coaches or friends of the group.  I was a bit concerned that I would suffer on the bike since I hadn’t done as much as I usually do because I was traveling.  Turned out I felt fine  through the first ride and the run.   I did tire a little bit on the last ride, but I survived it.  Fun workout on a beautiful evening.  Nothing better than that…!

I knew I would be tired this morning for the run and worried that I wouldn’t wake up for it, but I was up before my alarm (curse my intolerably accurate internal clock…).  I was tired, as predicted, and a bit sore, but I pulled on my shoes and prepared for the run.

I stared in disbelief at the thermometer.  It read 58 degrees.  I didn’t know what to do.  I had on shorts and a shirt.  Was that it?  Was that all I needed?  No layers?  No gloves?  I spent the entire drive to the trailhead feeling absolutely sure I had forgotten something.  I hadn’t forgotten anything but I couldn’t find my headlamp so I decided to just stick with someone who had one.  Turns out I didn’t even need to do that.  It was light enough to see about 10 minutes into the run.

Yes, I was tired.  Yes, I was sore.  Yes, it was absolutely beautiful this morning.  Sixty degrees, no wind, birds singing everywhere, the sun coming up and shining on the bottoms of the clouds.  Worth every bit of it!  I still managed 5.3 miles at a 7:30 pace.  I’ll take it.

I have two big workouts left and then the plan calls for us to taper next week in the lead up to the race.  I have a big swim tomorrow and then Saturday I am supposed to do a practice triathlon with a 600 yd swim/15 mile ride/2 mile run.  I need to plot out a route for the ride and the run from the ARC (where the pool is) and then figure out how to stow my stuff.  Sunday we go to the race site and go over the flow of the race.  Next week is light workouts.  It’s odd for me to be tapering again for a race.  I know that this race will be about an hour and a half for me, and I guess that is a “taperable” race distance.  I’m just used to 5Ks for the last year being my only races and I usually go out and run AFTER the race just to get more miles in.

My next race is in about a month and a half.  It will be my first open water swim.  I did get an offer to use one of the coach’s houses that sits on a lake as a place to train.  That’s two more spots I have found as options so I’m encouraged to have more places to swim.  Now the weather just has to cooperate and warm up enough for me to swim outside.  Or I have to find a wetsuit.  I’m just not sure the world is ready to see me covered from head to toe in neoprene.  Think “baby seal”…Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Congratulations to all my friends who finished marathons this weekend!  For Kathy, Dan H., Lisa, Hugh, Andy and Dan S., I hope it was everything you dreamed it would be.  Congrats also to Nikki and Karen for completing the St. Louis marathon.  You guys and gals are awesome!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

