That’s it… I’m pooped…

I really don’t know what the hell is wrong with me lately.  I seem to have developed this affliction for self destruction or “Death by exercise” where one tough workout a day is no longer good enough.  Even though my plan calls for a “ride/run” or “swim/ride”, I seem to be taking it to the extreme like I’m some kind of athlete or something.

Take yesterday for example.  It was not enough to run 6.5 miles in the fastest time I have ever run it (7:34 pace).  That alone would be enough for most.  But not me.  Then, yesterday evening I rode 28 miles at 18mph in a stiff crosswind.  AND THEN… I had to talk myself out of putting on my running shoes and going for a cooldown run.

I’m sick…  I have lost all common sense and good judgement.  Lucky for me my 5 year old wanted to snuggle last night and sat on me for an hour or I might have done something else stupid…

But I woke up exhausted.  That is a bad thing.  And I know it.  It’s times like these when more exercise is foolish.  This is when you get hurt.  My last week was:

Monday- Swim 2000, ride 20 in the rain and cold

Tuesday- Run 6

Wednesday- Swim 1500, ride 20 (hills), run 2

Thursday- Run 6.5 hard, ride 28 hard

I’m pooped…

My plan calls for a day off today but unfortunately I am supposed to swim a 450 for time and ride 20-30 tomorrow and I will not be able to because I am leaving to go to a 3 day conference so I have to shift that to today.  I don’t have to ride because I did that yesterday, but I still need to swim.  In fact, I should be at the pool… right now.  But I just can’t answer the bell this morning.

The pool is open for lap swim this afternoon and then again tomorrow starting at noon so I will see if resting and eating will get me fired back up so I can go today.  Then I can take tomorrow and most of Sunday off before I hit it again.

This only makes me admire even more those who choose the path of the Ironman.  It would take me YEARS to build up to that level of training, even at my current pace.  And even though I know this will get a bit easier as I lose weight and get stronger, it’s still the hardest thing I have ever done.  And I’m only training for sprint distances…!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

