Slow and slower

So is it bad that even though I haven’t even completed my first real triathlon, I’m already stressed about the second one?  It’s not that I’m worried about being able to complete it, because I think my fitness is coming along fine.  It’s mostly because it is an open water swim just over a month after Trizou.  Yes, this is my first open water swim and no, I don’t have a wetsuit.  I’m not worried about (more than usual) the swim, I’m worried about getting some open water practice in before the race.  It’s been so cool that I can’t get in the water, and I’m not sure I can afford a full wetsuit at this time.  But wetsuits aren’t exactly something you can borrow.  They have to fit right or it’s like riding a bike that’s too big or too small.

I guess maybe at this point I should focus on Trizou and not worry about it, but if I don’t have something to stress about I’m not happy.  What I need to be stressing about at this point is the fact that my bike leg is so weak.  I have got to spend as much time as possible between now and Trizou riding.  Otherwise it’s going to be a long day.  And right now the weather isn’t helping much with that, either.  Thank goodness for mag trainers.

I swam this morning and felt pretty good.  I swam a little last night with the family and felt short of breath and tired.  I’m glad that didn’t carry over to this morning’s session.  I think now I need to work on getting stronger in the water.  Increasing the cadence of my stroke and the strength of my pull.  I am ok on distance, but I’m slow by design.  I have tried to focus more on technique in these early months since I am new to the sport, but now I think I have the muscle memory down enough to start cranking up the speed a little bit.  Time to start mixing in more sprints and intermediate distances at higher speeds.  I would really like to knock a minute off my pool time in the next month if I can.  But if I’m going to do it, it’s time to get cracking.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

