Mixed bag o’ thoughts

Wednesdays are really shaping up to be my most rigorous training days of the week.  I’ve (shockingly) really come to look forward to my morning swim on Wednesday as it seems to soothe the beating my legs take on Tuesday.  But Then I go back out on Wednesday evenings and brutalize my legs again with a hill repeat ride followed by a short run.  This is all followed less than 12 hours later by a 5-7 mile run.  …rough.  But my body seems to be adapting to it relatively well.  It’s not thrilled, but at least it’s not completely rebelling.

After doing a little talking with a couple of experts in sports injury and consulting the all knowing interwebs, I think I might have a mild piriformis strain.  It’s one of the muscles under the big (in my case, HUGE) gluteal muscles.  It is usually strained by overexertion (like going to traknight the first time and going balls out like I had been there before…) or a new/change in muscle exertion (like getting on a road bike for the first time in 20 years again… and going balls out… like I had been there before… *sigh*).  It seems to be slowly getting better, as long as I don’t do anything crazy.  I was worried there for a while that I had ANOTHER stress fracture of the pelvis because it felt kind of like that pain.  I was pretty stressed about that…

On a different note, I went to a class last night in changing bike tires.  I know this sounds crazy since I have ridden thousands of mountain bike miles and fixed dozens of flats, but the person giving this class is a bike shop owner and former professional bicyclist who can replace a tube flat in less than a minute in race conditions.  I knew I would pick up some tips and I did.  He only uses one tire lever, pre-inflates the new tube just a tiny bit to give it shape and does most of the work by hand.  He also suggested for a big cut in a tire, keeping a dollar bill or old power bar wrapper in your bag to cover up the hole and keep the tube from coming out.  I would have never thought of that.  We also talked a bit about gearing for bikes and how to keep your chain from rattling in the wrong gear combo, making “on the fly” derailleur adjustments, etc.  Great info.  If you can take class, do it.  It will be invaluable when the inevitable happens…!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

