The old debate…

…quality vs. quantity.

The beginner’s triathlon group was supposed to meet today for a bike/run session.  But what started out as a nice, 50 degree day with light winds slowly degraded into a (nother) windy, cold, drizzly, crapper of a day.  Right after lunch our fearless leader contacted us and managed to set up an indoor “bootcamp” session for us with a trainer in town.

I really appreciate that she set this session up, but I also knew that I couldn’t take advantage of it.  The problem wholly lies with me, though.  See, I haven’t been doing any of this type of training.  The strength/aerobic/flexibility type training that they were going to do today.  And it’s not that I’m afraid to do this type of training… but just not now.

See, if I were to go to this type of training now, it would take me 3-4 days to recover because I know me and I would overdo it.  But the problem is that my first real race is this upcoming weekend and I would like to spend the week leading up to it at least able to WALK!

I have, however, HAD IT with windy bike rides for a while.  So what better opportunity to go check out the course for the upcoming race and get in a windy RUN instead…?  Dudnit sound yummy?  *sigh*

When I got to the parking area the wind was blowing about 30… still.  But it looked like the course wound through a trail at the park that was mostly in the woods so I was hoping the trees would block the wind.

And they did… Until I made wrong turn and ended up running through a neighborhood and out to a main road that was funneling the wind and a biting cold mist right into my face.  I had the pleasure of running into this little breeze for over a mile before I turned off and headed back to where I thought the trail joined back up on my route.  Luckily I was right and I found the trail and finished the run (with the wind!).

Am I glad I did the run?

ya know… Not really.  It just wasn’t the quality run I had hoped for.  I almost think I would have just been better off taking the day off.  It kind of felt like I was running miles just to run miles and I don’t really think it was worth it.  I don’t know what is in the plan for tomorrow but the weather is supposed to be crappy so I know what I’m doing.  I’m going to the pool and I’m getting in that nice, cool 78 degree water.  To heck with all this January weather…

…especially since it’s APRIL!!!

The upside of all this I guess is that this was my biggest mileage week to date.  Seventy three miles on the bike, 20(ish) miles running and two miles in the pool.  I know some people do this in a day, but for me it’s an accomplishment…

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

