Watchin’ squirrels

An Eastern Grey Squirrel (Sciurus carolinensis...

Image via Wikipedia

It’s been a long time since I ran more than 7 miles.  I think I ran 10 once in January and then got serious about triathlon training and it just hasn’t been a part of the plan since then.

So this morning I found myself off from work, with a decent amount of time to run, and a scheduled long day on my plan.  What better a scenario for a long run could there be?

I hit the trail at a familiear spot and decided to do two things.  First, I was going to run the flattest terrain in Columbia (which = one trail).  And second, I was going to run S.L.O.W.

It was yummy.  Like getting my dessert first.  I barely broke a sweat and didn’t breathe hard the entire time.  I averaged a leisurely 9:37 for 10.3 miles.  I even stopped to tinkle and then refill the tank.  I watched the birds and chased the squirrels,  said “hi” to everybody I passed, daydreamed about having a house in one of the neighborhoods that the trail ran through and generally footled about.  I even stopped to pet one of the fattest Labs I have ever seen.  She was like a furry whisky barrel.  But sweet as pie.

I needed a run like this.  I have really been training hard and every run, ride or swim has been for time and distance.  I almost forgot I LIKE to run.  Weird…

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

