I seem to be a real pain in my own ass as well as everyone else’s…  I have had this nagging pain from a gluteal muscle pull (yes, I strained my ass…  no snarky comments please) that I gave myself as a gift at the first Traknight of the season.  It felt fine at the practice duathlon on Saturday but it seems to be upset with me again today.  I seem to be stiff and sore from the waist down and I felt fatigued and slow on the run today.  My time bore that out (for once) as I was over 15 seconds per mile slower than usual on this run.

I’m just going to write it off as that “second day after a hard workout” day and move on, but I was really hoping that I was getting in better shape and wouldn’t have too many more of those.  Granted, the effort I put in on Saturday was much harder than I usually put in, but still, it makes me grumpy anyway…

This run was very much one of those detached body experiences.  My upper body felt great.  Fantastic.  Perfect.  My lower body felt aweful.  Sore.  Fatigued.  Heavy.  I hate those runs.  My upper body is saying “C’mon!!”  and my lower body just can’t answer the bell.  I finally started to feel pretty decent about mile 5, but by then it was too late to make anything of the run.

I’m still looking at the whole planning thingy with my training.  Today was supposed to be a brick as well but I just didn’t have time (and it was raining).  I guess all I can do is get my bike out of the truck and hook it up to the trainer tonight.  I’m getting more and more desperate for bike time.  Yesterday afternoon the winds were blowing 30-50 mph and I just couldn’t motivate myself to ride in those conditions.  Same thing this morning.  I could have ridden to and from the run, but it was raining and I don’t have the gear to ride in thunderstorms (who does?) so I bailed on that as well.  I just don’t want to keep making excuses.  Maybe some time on the trainer tonight will ease my guilt…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

