Tired

Got so busy yesterday gettiing ready for YET ANOTHER conference that I didn’t get a chance to post about my run.  For the first time in over 3 weeks I got to run again with the Tue/Thur running group.  You can tell the season is upon us because the parking lot is really filling up.  I’m guessing at least 65 people this week and it will only get bigger as the temps improve.

We ran a fun route that I hadn’t done in a while so I decided to do the long route (7.1 mi).  I knew I would have to hurry to get it in and get back home in time to be ready for work, but I really wanted the run.

I love it when I feel good all the way through a run.  I started out at the back of the pack and just weaved through them until I got to the front.  I stuck with the lead pack until about mile 3 and then they took off (6:15 pace! Yikes!!).  Right at this point there is a monster of a hill which I usually struggle on but I felt good going up (which is weird for me) and didn’t tire at the top either.  This is followed by a good downhill and I decided to take advantage of the “free speed” my coach speaks of so I leaned forward, lengthened my stride and flew down the hill.  I just wish I could run that fast on flats and ups as well!  I kept passing people all the way to the last turn and finished up with an 8:14 pace.  For a route with three BIG hills in it, I was good with that.  I’m a bit sore and tired today but this is to be expected.  This is farther, faster and earlier than I have run in nearly a month.  It might take a bit of getting used to again.

I swam this morning and was obviously tired.  I managed a little over half my planned workout before just deciding to phone the rest in and take a break.  I did time myself in the 400 and I’m down to 8:15.  I’m pretty sure I can get under 8 for the race and this is perfect with me.

Tonight I might try to ride a recumbent a little bit just to shake out the stiffness in my legs.  Everyone here (at the conference) wants to go out drinking so I can either go watch them drink or do something useful.  Since it is painful for me to watch beer get consumed without getting any myself… I choose to do something else!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
One Response to Tired

  1. Bob Allen says:

    Sounds like a really good run! Way to attack and conquer those hills.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

