Speedwork and a brick a day.

Took a break from regularly scheduled programming today and ran a local 5K.  It was kind of special since it was originally the first 5K I ran when I started running again.  I ran a 25 minute 5K in that race in 2007.  Last year I couldn’t run it because I was hurt.

This year, even though I haven’t been training for 5K and have only been running about 15 miles a week, I decided to give it a go again just to see how I would do.  The race had a large turnout due to decent weather and it was fun to see old running buddies again.  To top it all off I PR’d the course and the 5K with a 22:20!  I’m pretty sure now that I should be able to get under 22 minutes by the end of the year.  As for what this means in the triathlon, I’m still shooting for anything under 24 in that race.

The first mile of this race was really crowded.  Because it’s a local race, there were a lot of first timers who thought they needed to be in the front and ended up getting in the way.  My first mile was only a 7:30.  It was also a little bit uphill.  The second mile flattened out  and went back down hill.  I crossed the mile marker at 6:56!  Mile 3 was a 7:00 flat mile that felt better than I thought it would.  That uphill start came back on itself and ended as an easy downhill to the finish line.

Most races I either pass a lot of people or get passed a lot in that last mile, but I must have done it right today because I only got passed once in the last two miles.

Afterward I joined a friend for another 3 miles to finish off the day at a nice, easy pace.  Then when I got home I felt the irresistable call of my bike and jumped on it for the first time since I got it pimped out for triathlon.  It’s REALLY comfortable.  I rode for a half hour on it and loved the riding position.  This was also my first time on the Cyclops and I enjoyed it as well.  It’s definitely much better than the old, beat up stationary bike I have been riding!

Tomorrow I ride for the first time with our beginner group.   We are being coached on the bike by a fantastic rider and I’m really hoping to pick up some pointers from him.  I have a long way to go to get fast on the bike…

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
One Response to Speedwork and a brick a day.

  1. Bob Allen says:

    Good 5K time. The only one I have run had a nasty uphill finish — something like .3-.5 miles long.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

