Recover and re-tool

Seven very tired miles this morning under grey, threatening skies.  The strong wind and cold temps didn’t help my mood or effort either.  I’m still really tired and am looking forward to a couple of days without running.

Tomorrow is my last swim lesson and surprisingly I’m actually kind of sad about that.  I know that triathlons are not won in the water but I am seeing steady improvement and I hope it continues.  It would be nice to be swimming in the 6-7 minute range for 400 at triathlon time.  I am at 8 minutes now but that was about 80% effort.

After this we start on the bike.  My bike is going to take a lot of work to beat into a triathlon bike.  I need to reverse the seat post (yes, it’s reversable with negative offset) to get me closer to the bars, I might need to change bar stems, I need to get my new pedals/shoes, road tires and I need to mount my aero bars, which will necessitate the need for removing the second set of brake levers (my bike is a cyclocross bike) and maybe even changing out the handlebars.  That’s a lot of changes and then I need time to get used to it and get my legs in shape.  I am also looking to get a mag trainer so that I can get more seat time on the bike.

…oh… and everybody is going to run the St. Paddy’s day 5k and they want me to run it with them..

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
One Response to Recover and re-tool

  1. […] bookmarks tagged triathlon Recover and re-tool saved by 7 others     gremlinhellfire bookmarked on 03/01/09 | […]

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

